I’ve noticed that my speaking style and my formal writing style are so distinct from each other that writing in each style over the same material produces two completely different essays. This doesn’t strike me as strange in the slightest. I tend to sublimate personal style into an extension of tone, which is true even of my conversational speech. Dissimulation is standard when I see an opportunity to divert the conversation in a favorable direction, typically for everyone’s enjoyment and amusement. We are all naturally actors. I don’t believe that this is particularly unique behavior, though it may appear so when presented as such.

Note that most of this process occurs at a subconscious level. It wouldn’t make sense for me to “notice” a conscious, deliberate action of my own.

- continue

