Another panel I attended at Anime Matsuri involved the “Chain of Creation” of Senbonzakura, a song composed with the Vocaloid Hatsune Miku. It detailed how the song gained a million views in its first month on Nico Nico Douga, and quickly rose to and held the #1 spot on karaoke machines in Japan, but then it went on to reveal the numerous covers and remixes of this single song, from vocal covers to covers made with a ruler to complete rearranges of the song, even some in English. There were literally thousands of covers, and people even videos compiling all of them into a single video.

I’m not even going to tie this into some sort of argument. I’m just going to sit here and revel in the glory of the Chain of Creation while I still can. The two things that motivate me the most, the creative power and collective power of my fellow humans, I see here.

